CEO of the Year

CEO of the Year 2015: Canada’s Most Innovative Leaders

Great leaders do more than offer great returns. They make their mark with bold strategy, singular vision and extraordinary innovation.


CEO of the Year 2015: Mike Pearson, Valeant

The CEO of Valeant Pharmaceuticals has led a blizzard of M&A to drive plenty of profits—and lots of controversy to go with it

Top Turnaround CEO of the Year: Robert Sawyer, Rona

After inheriting the reins at the ailing home-improvement retailer, he took a hacksaw to expenses and boosted same-store sales too

Most Innovative CEO of the Year: Pierre Laurin, Prometic

He created a new drug that could soon drive revenues north of $500 million, which will fuel the next stage of his company’s growth

Top New CEO of the Year: Mark Barrenechea, OpenText

The software CEO with the soul of a poet has fought off a cancer scare while doubling shareholder returns

The CEO of the Year Advisory Panel:

Brian Segal, chairman

Sherry Cooper, chief economist, Dominion Lending Centres

Ian Dundas, CEO, Enerplus

Isabelle Hudon, executive chairwoman, Sun Life Financial Quebec

Ellis Jacob, president and CEO, Cineplex

Bill Linton, board member, Empire Co. and TMX Group

Steven Murphy, dean, Ted Rogers School of Management

John Risley, president, Clearwater Fine Foods

Harry Rosen, executive chairman, Harry Rosen

Kathleen Taylor, chairwoman, RBC

Louis Vachon, president and CEO, National Bank of Canada

Annette Verschuren, CEO and chairwoman, NRStor