Texas Newspaper Foundation Hall of Fame to induct Tino Duran, Martin Gibson, Fred Hartman

AUSTIN, Texas – The Texas Newspaper Foundation will induct three new members to its Hall of Fame next year.

The inductions of Florentino Duran, Martin L. Gibson and Fred Hartman will occur Jan. 17 as part of the Texas Press Association’s 2014 Midwinter Conference and Trade Show, the Foundation said Friday.

Inclusion in the Hall of Fame is based on outstanding achievements in and contributions to the newspaper industry. Hartman and Gibson are being honoured posthumously.

Duran is president of Duran Duran Industries and publisher of La Prensa San Antonio. He is a former president of the National Association of Hispanic Publications and in 1995 established the La Prensa Foundation, which has raised and donated more than $2 million to local college students to further their studies.

Hartman began his newspaper career as a sportswriter and later became chairman of Southern Newspapers before starting his own newspaper company, Hartman Newspapers. He founded the Houston chapter of the Baseball Writers Association of America and served as president of the Texas Daily Newspaper Association in 1965 and in 1978. He died in 1991 at the age of 83.

Gibson spent 24 years teaching journalism at the University of Texas at Austin after a professional newspaper career that included stints at the Austin American-Statesman, the New York Daily News, the Chicago Tribune, the Houston Chronicle and The Galveston County Daily News. He died in 1993 at age 59.