Meet the new cabinet ministers in Justin Trudeau’s first cabinet

Rookie MP Bill Morneau becomes Finance Minister; Chrystia Freeland is Minister of International Trade

Bill Morneau, the rookie MP for Toronto Centre

Bill Morneau, the rookie MP for Toronto Centre, was named Finance Minister in Prime Minister Justin Trudeau’s first cabinet. (Alex Guibord/CP)

OTTAWA – Rookie Toronto MP Bill Morneau has been named Canada’s new finance minister by Prime Minister Justin Trudeau.

Morneau, a former executive and past chairman of the C.D. Howe Institute, is just one of several newcomers to the House of Commons among those comprising Trudeau’s 30-member cabinet.

Veteran MP and former Liberal leader Stephane Dion has been appointed foreign affairs minister, while newcomer Jody Wilson-Raybould becomes justice minister and attorney general.

Others include Ralph Goodale in Public Safety and Emergency Preparedness; Lawrence MacAulay in Agriculture and Agri-Food; John McCallum in Immigration, Refugees and Citizenship; and Carolyn Bennett in Indigenous and Northern Affairs. Toronto MP Chrystia Freeland becomes international trade minister.

Kent Hehr takes Veterans Affairs and also becomes associate minister of national defence, while Harjit Sajjan becomes defence minister and newcomer Catherine McKenna takes Environment and Climate Change.

Judy Foote is minister of public services and procurement, while Scott Brison has been named president of the Treasury Board. Veteran MP Dominic LeBlanc becomes government House leader. Melanie Joly takes the Canadian Heritage portfolio; Navdeep Bains gets Innovation, Science and Economic Development; Jane Philpott in Health; Jean-Yves Duclos in Families, Children and Social Development.

Here is the full list of the new cabinet

Prime Minister Justin Trudeau

Public Safety Minister Ralph Goodale

Agriculture Minister Lawrence MacAulay.

Foreign Affairs Minister Stephane Dion.

Immigration Minister John McCallum.

Indigenous and Northern Affairs Minister Carolyn Bennett.

Treasury Board President Scott Brison.

Government House leader Dominc LeBlanc.

Innovation, Science and Economic Development Minister Navdeep Singh Bains.

Finance Minister Bill Morneau.

Justice Minister Jody Wilson Raybould.

Public Services Minister Judy Foote.

International Trade Minister Chrystia Freeland.

Health Minister Jane Philpott Health.

Families, Children and Social Development Minister Jean-Yves Duclos.

Transport Minister Marc Garneau.

International Development Minister Marie-Claude Bibeau.

Natural Resources Minister James Carr.

Canadian Heritage Minister Melanie Joly.

Revenue Minister Diane Lebouthillier.

Veterans Affairs Minister Kent Hehr.

Environment Minister Catherine McKenna.

Defence Minister Harjit Sajjan.

Employment Minister MaryAnn Mihychuk.

Infrastructure Minister Amarjeet Sohi.

Democratic Institutins Minister Maryam Monsef.

Sports Minister Carla Qualtrough.

Fisheries Minister Hunter Tootoo.

Science Minister Kirsty Duncan.

Status of Women’s Minister Patricia Hajdu.

Small Business Minister Bardish Chagger.